Our Mission

The Center for Collaborative Conservation (CCC) builds the capacity of organizations, communities, and future leaders to achieve conservation impact, while applying Colorado State University’s world-class research and education.

Our Values

Conservation impact. We bridge scholarship and conservation action. We build the capacity of people, and resilience of human and natural communities. We integrate nature with human well-being. We engage people who can deliver outcomes.

Honoring diversity. We embrace natural and human diversity. We inquire humbly and listen carefully. We support under-represented and marginalized groups. We value Indigenous and local perspectives. Our actions reflect that individuals and communities matter.

Shared learning. We actively learn with those who study and practice collaborative conservation.  We engage CSU faculty in a common research agenda. We learn with community members. We are open and curious as we strive for improvement.

Commitment to relationships. We nurture networks among staff, partners, and clients. We relate in a spirit of reciprocity with nature and with people. We put effort into good communication. We support each other with kindness, while challenging each other to grow.

Accountability and excellence. We honor the trust supporters, clients, and partners place in us. We carefully steward University and donor resources. We fulfill promises, big and small.  We deliver conservation impact with quality research, teaching, products, and services.


Advisory Board

Rich Alper Confluence Collaboration, Principal; CCC past Executive Committee member

Jonathan Clifton CSU Warner College of Natural Resources, Director of Development

Casey Davenhill Colorado Watershed Assembly, Executive Director

Reid DeWalt Colorado Parks and Wildlife; Assistant Director for Aquatic, Terrestrial and Natural Resources

Meegan Flenniken Larimer County, Land Conservation, Planning and Resource Division Manager

Rickey Frierson CSU Warner College of Natural Resources, Dir. of Diversity and  Inclusion

Gemara Gifford Trees Water People, International Director

Ariana Gloria CSU Dept. of Forest and Rangeland Stewardship, MS Student and Graduate Research Assistant

Claire Harper US Forest Service, Program Manager

Rox Hicks US Fish and Wildlife Service, Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative, Biologist; CCC past Executive Committee member

Diana Lane The Nature Conservancy in Colorado, Sustainable Food and Water Program Director

Matt Luizza US Fish and Wildlife Service, Program Officer, Sudano-Sahel Initiative; CCC Fellows Program alumnus

Nikki Martinez CSU Warner College of Natural Resources, Asst. Dir. of Communications

Hallie Mahowald Western Landowners Alliance, Programs Director

Arielle Quintana Quivira Coalition, Education and Outreach Director

David Smith Advisor/Board member to environmental non-profits; former President/CEO of the national leading multifamily affordable housing finance company

Jen Solomon CSU Conservation Leadership Through Learning program, Student Recruitment Coordinator; Dept. of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Professor; CCC Fellow alumna

Jessica Western University of Wyoming Dept. of Human Dimensions in Natural Resources, Senior Research Scientist; Ruckelshaus Institute, Director of the Collaboration Program in Natural Resources

Geoffrey Whittle-Walls The Nature Conservancy Global Science and Planning Team; Social Science Specialist

Robin Young CSU Extension, Archuleta County Director, Natural Resources and Agriculture Agent